How many hearts? How many sleeves?

The heart is only one! And the expanding heart is mine!

The sleeves though? Sometimes they are on oversized hoodies and they help me hide a bit!

Recently, I’ve found myself living in my thoughts a whole lot more than usual, I am grateful that I get to reflect and also pour into myself!

I am kinder in thoughts of myself, I scream “I love you “ to myself a lot more often, and I laugh with myself more. I can truly say I enjoy the company I keep! I love the solitude, it’s not crazy sad, or invasive!

I’ve mastered telling the people around me , just like Meredith Grey said in that elevator “ I love you, in a really, really big – pretend to like your taste in music, let you eat the last piece of cheesecake, hold a radio over my head outside your window – unfortunate way that makes me hate you, love you. “

I’ve stopped to think about wherever I should add the last bit , which is : “ So pick me. Choose me. Love me” because I believe now, people should always make this choice without any obligations placed on them , just freely and purposefully, and even if they don’t choose me, I’ve learnt that my heart will always , always give them the very best of love I’ve got to give, it’s who I am!

I always thought of it as a flaw in my personality, but I realise now it’s my greatest blessing to others!

I’m learning to open up more to my best friend, to let her love radiate joy through me and to just laugh and sometimes fall asleep on the couch while watching “The best man , final chapters together” (even though a year ago, we really did think we are not the ones to fall asleep watching TV 🤣), it’s times and moments like these that fill me with more joy than I ever thought possible.

It really ok to wear your heart on your sleeves, to enjoy the company of people that choose you and keep choosing you in every single stage of life!

Allow yourself to dream, to love and to feel every emotion that comes along in the journey, and as my friend Ziyanda says : just shoot your shot! 😉


Leave a comment