.I’m writing this for you.

Screenshot_20180614-005807

And if you came here wondering who this is for, then you might want to read till the end, just in case it’s for you.

I see you struggling to put into words what your mind is making you go through, with every word it seems as though you are straying further away from explaining how you really feel. I want you to know that I get it, I know.

You feel so out of touch with reality you have managed to convince yourself that not even God can reach you in this dark place you are in , but it’s not true….I’ve been right there myself, and look the Holy Spirit is not scared of the dark, or what He might see when He comes to find you right where you are, at your lowest.

You know that dark, deadened area of your life that you’ve been trying to close off and put behind you for as long as you can recall? Too many memories. Too much pain. A world of embarrassing moments and choices that would kill you if people knew.

You’ve let this place age and harden and petrify. You don’t want anyone pecking around in there, able to see how dented and damaged you’ve been, how unsightly and stained and misshapen. The only way to handle this part of your life, you’ve decided, is to pull the door shut, seal the opening, prevent anyone from making further entry or inquiry, and leave the darkness in charge to rule over and entomb it . . . because nothing good or hopeful can ever come from that place.

But what if you chose to at least leave the door open, accessible to the possibility of life in Christ? The old, rusted, lifeless places in our hearts can become the breeding ground for surprising opportunities for beauty and bounty, brimming with new life.

What if you can let me , your friends, pastors and even a kind stranger in , just so you can realize you don’t have to fight alone, you don’t have to pray alone and you most certainly don’t have to suffer in silence!

I know the voices in your head have convinced you that no one else can understand , that even those who will claim to understand can’t help you, but will rather judge you.. I know it’s a battle you have to win in your mind, but…

When we become willing to unseal the lid a bit, allowing God and His healing purposes to become involved, our broken places become birthing places, remarkably able to give people a surge of encouragement, the kind that might just inspire them to hope and trust in God again. His work in us demonstrates to them God’s overcoming power to repurpose these ugly areas for His glory. It helps them see that their own damaged memories, cradled in His warm hands, can still hold signs of life.

I am writing this for you , and I pray that you know that I am just a phone call , a text , video call and even a million voicenotes at a time away. I love you and will keep you in my prayers, you are not alone❤


Leave a comment